Information on Cookies

To make the best use of our website, you'll need to make sure your web browser is set to accept cookies to ensure you receive the best experience.

For further information, please read our Cookies Policy.

Log In

Go To News
Jeremy Allen Award 2018 Winner - Stephen Baker Published Date: 19/11/2018

We are delighted to announce Stephen Baker as winner of the 2018 Jeremy Allen Award.

Stephen was presented with the award on the evening of 15th November 2018 during the Institutes's National Training Conference Gala Dinner. 

Stephen is the Chair of National Pubwatch, a position he has held since 2007. Stephen does this on a voluntary basis, juggling his day job with Thames Valley Police.

National Pubwatch has a proven track record of bringing together the pub and hospitality sector, enforcement agencies and other stakeholders to work effectively at reducing the problems associated with alcohol and violence.  

Stephen said 

"Jeremy Allen was a strong supporter of National Pubwatch and I am honoured to receive this award in his name. It means a great deal to me to have the work of National Pubwatch recognised by such a prestigious organisation as the Institute of Licensing" 

Institute of Licensing Chairman, Daniel Davies said 

"I am delighted that Stephen Baker is this year's winner of the Jeremy Allen Award. Stephen has worked selflessly to create and promote Pubwatch as a national organisation and to make pubs safer for staff and customers alike. His efforts exemplify the effectiveness of the partnership approach to managing licensed premises and the night-time economy, and Stephen was advocating that approach long before it became fashionable to do so. He is a deserving and worthy winner of this prestigious award."

Andy Grimsey, Partner at Poppleston Allen said 

"Customer safety is a licensee's primary responsibility. In his unswerving dedication through Pubwatch to partnership working between the police and the licensed trade Stephen has undoubtedly helped make the night-time economy safer, and as a consequence a more enjoyable environment for us all. He thoroughly deserves this year's Jeremy Allen Award."

Nominees and Finalists 2018

The Jeremy Allen Award is an annual recognition awarded jointly by the Institute of Licensing and Poppleston Allen Solicitors.  The award is open to anyone working in licensing and related fields and seeks to recognise and award exceptional practitioners.

Crucially, this award is by 3rd party nomination, which in itself is a tribute to everyone nominated in that they have been put forward by colleagues in recognition and out of respect to their professionalism and achievements.

The other nominees and finalists for the Jeremy Allen Award 2018 were:

  • Councillor Alan Bolshaw, City of Wolverhampton Council (Finalist)
  • PC Jason Hitchcock, Metropolitan Police (Finalist)
  • Myles Bebbington, Huntingdonshire District Council
  • Daniel Power, London Borough of Lewisham
  • Victoria Henley, North East Lincolnshire Council
  • PC Steve Pellow, Metropolitan Police
  • Sue Abbott-Smith, Cornwall Council
  • Bob Patterson, West Yorkshire Police
  • PC Neil Parnham, Metropolitan Police

More information is available here.