Information on Cookies

To make the best use of our website, you'll need to make sure your web browser is set to accept cookies to ensure you receive the best experience.

For further information, please read our Cookies Policy.



Jeremy Allen Award 2019 - Open for nominations

Back To Search
Jeremy Allen Award 2019 - Open for nominations 4th June 2019

We are delighted to continue the Jeremy Allen Award, now in its ninth year, in partnership with Poppleston Allen Solicitors.

This is annual opportunity to nominate colleagues working in licensing and related fields, in recognition of exceptional commitment, energy, passion and achievements.    

Nominations for the 2019 award are invited by no later than 1 September 2019.  The criteria are shown below and we look forward to receiving nominations from you.  Please email nominations to  and confirm that the nominee is aware and happy to be put forward.

Award criteria

The award is a tribute to excellence in licensing and will be given to practitioners who have made a notable difference by consistently going the extra mile.  This might include:

a) Local authority practitioners for positively and consistently assisting applicants by going through their licence applications with them and offering pragmatic assistance / giving advice.

b) Practitioners instigating mediation between industry applicants, local authorities, responsible authorities and / or local residents to discuss areas of concern / to enhance mutual understanding between parties.

c) Practitioners instigating or contributing to local initiatives relevant to licensing and /or the night-time economy.  This could include, for example, local pubwatch groups, BIDS, Purple Flag initiatives etc.

d) Practitioners using licensing to make a difference.

e) Regulators providing guidance to local residents and / or licensees.

f) Practitioners’ involvement with national initiatives, engagement with Government departments / national bodies, policy forums etc.

g) Practitioners’ provision of local training / information sharing.

h) Private practitioners working with regulators to make a difference in licensing.

i) Responsible authorities taking a stepped approach to achieving compliance and working with industry practitioners to avoid the need for formal enforcement.

j) Regulators making regular informal visits to licensed premises to engage with industry operators in order to provide information and advice in complying with legal licensing requirements.

k) Regulators undertaking work experience initiatives to gain a more in-depth understanding of industry issues, or industry practitioners undertaking work experience initiatives to gain a more in-depth understanding of regulatory issues.

l) Practitioners embracing and developing training initiatives / qualifications.

m) Elected councillors promoting change within local authorities / industry areas; showing a real interest and getting involved in the licensing world.

The annual award seeks to recognise individuals for whom licensing is a vocation rather than just a job.  Everyone nominated for this award should feel very proud that others have recognised their commitment and dedication.  Previous winners of the Jeremy Allen Award are:

2018 – Stephen Baker

2017 – Clare Perry 

2016 – Bob Bennett

2015 – Jane Blade

2014 – Alan Tolley

2013 – David Etheridge

2012 – Jon Shipp

2011 – Alan Lynagh

This award is a tribute to the life and professional career of Jeremy Allen, whose dedication to partnership working and best practice in licensing made him one of the most respected and popular figures in the industry. Jeremy sadly passed away shortly after becoming Chair of the Institute of Licensing, and we are pleased and proud to support this award by Poppleston Allen as an ongoing tribute to him.

Newsletter Sign Up

Register Newsletter Interests

Log In

Remember Me

Successfully Logged Out